Godhead – My Understanding

Two posts ago I discussed the doctrine of the Trinity and my opposition to it.

This will be a much gentler post, detailing how I personally come to the belief and understanding of the Godhead as true doctrine. 

First, an explanation I didn’t give last time. Definitions:

  1. Trinity or Trinitarian belief:  God is one God, but three coeternal and consubstantial persons; the Father, the Son, and the Holy Spirit.  The three persons are distinct, yet are one “substance, essence or nature” (homoousios).  In this context, a “nature” is what one is, whereas a “person is who one is. (From https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Trinity).  (Also, huh?).
  2. Godhead: God the Father, Jesus Christ, and the Holy Ghost form a group known as the Godhead.  Each member is a different, individual being, yet all three are united in thought, desire, knowledge, power, and purpose. (From https://www.churchofjesuschrist.org/media/video/2019-08-0080-godhead?lang=eng). (Also, visit that link to watch a 7-minute video to learn more).

How can I say “I know” the Godhead to be true?

The Godhead is one of the unique beliefs of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. 

A majority of Christianity believes in the Trinity.

In this post, I won’t go into detail on the doctrine, differences, importance, history, etc. of the distinctions between Trinitarian and Godhead belief.  That I’ll likely save for another day.  In this post I simply want to explain how I have come to know for myself that the Godhead is true and correct doctrine.

The short answer to how I can know the Godhead to be true is:

Through study, prayer, and upbringing.

My understanding of this principle and the knowledge I have of it can be broken down very simply.  It’s a similar breakdown that explains much of my testimony in the restored gospel.

In reading the Book of Mormon, I know without a shadow of a doubt that it is the word of God.  I know that it was translated through the power of God.

If the Book of Mormon is true, then Joseph Smith is a prophet. 

Joseph Smith told us he saw God the Father, and Jesus Christ on His right hand.

Joseph Smith History 1:17:

It no sooner appeared than I found myself delivered from the enemy which held me bound. When the light rested upon me I saw two Personages, whose brightness and glory defy all description, standing above me in the air. One of them spake unto me, calling me by name and said, pointing to the other-This is My Beloved Son, Hear Him!

Joseph Smith never wavered on this fact. 

This could be where it ends, but I’ll add some notes on upbringing and study.

Upbringing – obviously, I must mention that my upbringing played a role in my believing this to be true.  I was raised to believe in the Godhead; therefore, it is much easier for me to accept as truth.  That said, it was up to me to ask questions, read the book for myself, study Joseph Smith’s history and understand the principle for me to come to the knowledge.  Because I was raised to believe it to be true didn’t make it true.  Which leads to the next point.

Study – As I said, through study and research I have determined the Book of Mormon to be the word of God.  It is an inspired book. 

Prayer – My testimony of the Book of Mormon, mentioned in study, not only comes from logical, mind-centered study, but from personal revelation.  I’ve felt the Book of Mormon is true.  I’ve prayed to know the Book of Mormon is true.  I’ve received my answer, through prayer, that the Book of Mormon is true.  Prayer is an irreplaceable ingredient. 

The principle of the Godhead has been distorted, attacked, and misunderstood for centuries.  One of the first attacks Satan always makes is on the nature of God.  If Satan can confuse us on who God is, he can confuse us on who we are.  We are children of the Almighty God. 

I am grateful for modern revelation and prophets that make simple and powerful truths known.  I am grateful to know that while God is magnificent and powerful, He is not un-knowable.  The understanding of God as my Heavenly Father and Jesus Christ as my brother, who gave His life for me, strengthens my faith and helps me put my trust in them.

This truth is eternal, and this truth is important. 

One thought on “Godhead – My Understanding

Leave a comment